The history of the Diocese of Superior dates back to the 17th century. Our Journey Through Faith offers a glimpse into the historic events that played a role in the growth of Catholicism in Northern Wisconsin.
Our Journey through Faith: A History of the Diocese of Superior,
Anniversary of Dedication:
In December 1925, Pope Pius XI proclaimed the liturgical feast of Christ the King. Bishop Joseph G. Pinten, third bishop of Superior, responded by requesting the use of the name as designation of a new cathedral being built in Superior.
Joining Sacred Heart and St. Joseph parishes, the Cathedral of Christ the King was to provide worship and faith formation for the people of these parishes, and serve as the mother church of the Diocese of Superior. It brought together a reflection of a vibrant faith brought to the city of Superior from many different ethnic and culture groups. Majestic in its Italian Romanesque design, the Cathedral was dedicated on Christmas Day in 1927. However, as funds were unavailable, its interior remained undecorated through the Great Depression. It wasn’t until 1937, when the pastor, Fr. Joseph Annabring, designated a fund drive to complete the interior. The drive was timed to mark the 50th anniversary of Sacred Heart Parish, predecessor of the cathedral. While funds raised were modest, walls and ceiling were decorated and new pews, confessionals and stained glass windows brought the building to a vision longed for by its members. The Cathedral Parish continued its redevelopment with the addition of a parish hall in 1946. The rectory was added in 1948, a new school built in 1952, and a new convent in 1960.
In 2002, Bishop Raphael M. Fliss announced the Cathedral of Christ the King Preservation and Enhancement campaign, the first major renovation of the diocese’s cathedral church. Dedication of the renovated cathedral was held in February 2005.
REFERENCE: Our Journey through Faith: A History of the Diocese of Superior,
by Sam Lucero, 2005.