The history of the Diocese of Superior dates back to the 17th century. Our Journey Through Faith offers a glimpse into the historic events that played a role in the growth of Catholicism in Northern Wisconsin. Diocese of Superior - Statistics
Our Journey through Faith: A History of the Diocese of Superior,
St. Mary Church was established in 1912. With the help of parishioners, carpenters, and less than $600, the first building was erected, along with a house next to the church that served as a rectory. On June 14, 1946, St. Mary’s was made a mission of Land O’Lakes, with Fr. Austin Corrigan as pastor. In 1952, under the supervision of Louis Denk, the church was completely remodeled at a cost of $5,100, made possible through a gift from the Catholic Extension Society. A steeple with a bell and a choir loft were added. By the late 1950s, the parish outgrew their little whit church. A building committee was formed and in 1962 a new church, with seating for about 200, was built. It also had room for a rectory hall, kitchen, and small office. Over the years, the church began to experience an overflow in the summertime. Expansion was necessary once more. In 2001, a finance and building committee was formed, and construction began in 2002. The building addition, which nearly doubled the church’s sized, was completed in 2003.
REFERENCE: Our Journey through Faith: A History of the Diocese of Superior,
by Sam Lucero, 2005.