The history of the Diocese of Superior dates back to the 17th century. Our Journey Through Faith offers a glimpse into the historic events that played a role in the growth of Catholicism in Northern Wisconsin. Diocese of Superior - Statistics
Our Journey through Faith: A History of the Diocese of Superior,
In 1905, the village of Lublin was founded, named after the city in Poland. Many Polish, Catholic immigrants came to this area to form a community and to work in the saw mills and to farm the countryside. On December 14, 1907, the Catholic community gathered to elect a committee that would organize a parish. A petition was sent to the bishop of Superior to build a church. The bishop consented and the church was built and completed in 1908. St. Stanislaus had a large religious education program and a men’s group and women’s group. Many different nationalities began moving into the area and the parish flourished. But in the 1980s, the economy began to change and many young people moved out of the area. The parish became part of a cluster. Although St. Stanislaus is much smaller than in the past, it remains a vibrant parish.
REFERENCE: Our Journey through Faith: A History of the Diocese of Superior,
by Sam Lucero, 2005.